All I want for Christmas…

As I sit here in the early morning hours contemplating the Christmas season, I am filled with both thankfulness and longing. We have been blessed this year in so many ways, too numerous to list, and our hopes have been raised and dashed, to be raised again. It’s the time of year that many people put wish lists on the fridge, kids are writing to Santa, and grandparents are out shopping for that special gift. It’s easy to get caught up in the material wants that come with the season. So easily we forget what the true reason for all of the hustle and bustle of Christmas is all about. A baby, born in a cold stable, his parents journeying far from home at the whim of government to participate in a census, in the process fulfilling prophecy and securing the future of mankind. So this Christmas, though my heart longs to hold a babe of my own, all I really want for Christmas is to have my heart filled with the Joy of our Lord and Savior, and to share that love with others. Because even in my greatest sorrow, on the most difficult day, through my heart-wrenching tears my Jesus holds me close.

“You number my wanderings; Put my tears into Your bottle; Are they not in Your book?” (‭Psalms‬ ‭56‬:‭8‬ NKJV)

And I know He is a giver of good gifts.

“If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask Him!” (‭Matthew‬ ‭7‬:‭11‬ NKJV)

So, do I want a baby for Christmas? Yes, every day of the year I long for children of my own to hold in my arms. But more importantly I want the babe of Bethlehem, my Savior. Because if I have Jesus, I have everything.

May the peace of God hold you close this holiday season and throughout the coming year.

One thought on “All I want for Christmas…

  1. Thanks Beth! May our God of Peace continue to lead you and Jim during 2015 as He has in the past is our prayer!

Leave a Reply

