It’s ok to cry…

This weekend I was an emotional wreck. Maybe it was hormones, maybe I was tired, or maybe it was just time to have a good cry. Sometimes on this journey it feels like being strong means you don’t give in to tears, you put on a brave face and hold it there until it feels like it’s going to crack. Not to mention the fact that I HATE to cry. It feels like giving in, like I’m giving up. Thankfully I have good friends to remind me that being strong and having faith don’t mean that you can’t cry. Tears are healing, tears are normal, and holding them back doesn’t solve anything. So, I soaked in my bubble bath and cried. Then I took a long nap and woke up feeling much better.

The bible talks about crying in many places:

Psalm 56:8

“You keep track of all my sorrows, You have collected my tears in Your bottle, You have recorded each one in Your book.” (NLT)

What an awe inspiring thought to know that our Father in heaven keeps track of all our tears. I believe He cries with us and reaches out to comfort us in our sorrows.

John 11:35

“Then Jesus wept.” (NLT)

Our savior wept when He was here on earth, He was and is our example, it IS ok to cry!

Revelation 7:17

“For the Lamb on the throne will be their Shepherd. He will lead them to springs of life-giving water. And God will wipe every tear from their eyes.” (NLT)

I long for the day when all our tears are wiped away, when we will no longer have a reason for our tears, unless they are tears of joy.

Psalm 126:5

“Those who plant in tears will harvest with shouts of joy.” (NLT)

I’m trusting God for a day when I will harvest with shouts of joy.

Psalm 30:5

“For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime! Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning.” (NLT)

Ah, Joy comes in the morning, I’m certainly not a morning person, but watching the sun rise the other morning gave me a sense of peace and yes, joy, God’s gifts are splendiferous!

Psalm 30:11-12

“You have turned my mourning into joyful dancing. You have taken away my clothes of mourning and clothed me with joy, that I may sing praises to You and not be silent. O Lord my God, I will give You thanks forever!” (NLT)

So many of the verses about tears and crying and mourning end with God granting joy. I will sing praises to God even through my tears.

I Samuel 1:8

“Why are you crying, Hannah?” Elkanah would ask. “Why aren’t you eating? Why be downhearted just because you have no children? You have me—isn’t that better than having ten sons?” (NLT)

I am touched by the relationship that Hannah had with her husband, apparently they shared a deep love, how his heart must have ached to watch her crying. How blessed am I to have a wonderful husband to share my sadness and support me through this process. I know he has his own sadness through this as well. What a wonderful thing to have a true partner in life.

I Samuel 1:10

“Hannah was in deep anguish, crying bitterly as she prayed to the Lord.” (NLT)

Yes, I have been there, but the story of Hannah has always given me hope. In her anguish, through her tears Hannah cries out to God and He grants her the desires of her heart. Hannah ended up having seven children, and she gave thanks and credit to God for answering her prayers.

I Samuel 2:1

“Then Hannah Prayed: My heart rejoices in the Lord! The Lord has made me strong. Now I have an answer for my enemies; I rejoice because You rescued me.” (NLT)

So if you are walking this journey of infertility, adoption, pregnancy loss, or any other heartache; take heart. Your tears are healing, your tears are the seeds of your strength. Hold on to your partner, and give your tears to the Lord. Continue in the faith that joy will come in the morning.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

